top of page

Assignment 5 "Monogram"

YEAH !!! It comes to our final 2D assignment which is monogram !

What is monogram?? A monogram is a motif made by overlapping or combining two or more letters or other graphemes to form one symbol. Monograms are often made by combining the initials of an individual or a company, used as recognizable symbols or logos. For this assignment , we need to develop our own monogram with initials letter of our name.

These are sketches for my monogram. After I done 5 pages of monogram sketches, I tried it with colours.

Now is turn to develop my monogram ! I choose some of my favourite monogram from sketches to develop. For this part of assignment, I add shapes, lines and change the direction of the monogram. Here are my development of monogram.

I choose the monogram that I like the most from development and develop its texture and colour.

Then, I explored with its size.

I also did research for my 5 items. It is hard for me to choose my items as I don't know what to use as my 5 items . After I try to list out the things which I like and can represent me, I get to know what I want to use as my items.

These are my 5 items with monogram !

My first item is a photo album. As I love photography, I designed my own photo album with monogram on it. Another reason I choose photo album is it keeps memories. I decided to D.I.Y my own photo album once I decided to use it as my item. First, I spray on the cover. I tend to do marbling after our lecturer gives us the marbling exercises. So, I marbling on my cover and it looks great.

My second item is a sketchbook. I like to sketch my idol portrait but my sketch in portrait isn't that good. So, sketchbook become important for me as I can practice drawing when I'm free. Same goes to photo album, I spray the book cover at first, Then, I marbling on the cover. I use different colour for both cover of my item and the marbling effects looks more obvious on dark colour cover. I also tried to make bookmarks with marbling effect. After I success to do marbling on different surfaces, I become more confidence to use marbling effect on more items.

My third item is a concert ticket holder. I'm a kpop fans and this is my first time to attend concert ! I'm super excited for the concert as my idols are joining this concert ! That day became a memorable day for me so I keep the ticket as my memory. In order to keep this ticket well, I decided to make a concert ticket holder for it ! I fold and make the holder by myself and I use die cutting for my monogram. I'm satisfied with the results as I did not know what it gonna looks like when I doing it.

My fourth item is a sweet container (chocolate container). I'm a person will get stress easily. I believe sweets snacks can relieve stress as sweets reduce levels of cortisol, the stress hormone. Sweets may relieve stress, but it is not good to eat a lot. So, I choose a small glass jar as my sweet container. For my sweet container, I made a small label of my monogram and tied on it. At first, I was trying to make a 3D looks monogram on the cover of the glass jar. I failed a lot of times to make it. So, I made a label and I draw my monogram on the cover which I spray and D.I.Y myself.

My fifth item which is my last item is a bag tag. I like embroidery so I was planning to sew on my bag. But I'm scare to sew on it as I'm not good at sewing. To overcome this problem, I tried to sew on a cloth and I think of making a bag tag wasn't a bad idea. Therefore, I made a bag tag at last.

Recent Posts
Instagram
Archive
bottom of page